We're Open & Ready To Help! Get Started Without Leaving Home. Call 800-273-4357.
Have You Been Injured?
Get Your Free Case Evaluation

Columbia Workers’ Comp Attorneys Can Help

Young Woman Struggling With Lifting A Box Stock Photo

While you may spend 40 hours or more a week at work, if you are like many people, you gave little to no thought to workers’ compensation law until you suffered an injury on the job. Understanding the state’s workers’ compensation law is important to ensure you get the full benefits.

  • In South Carolina, most employees and employers are covered by the State’s Workers’ Compensation Act. There are a few exceptions, including businesses with less than four employees, agricultural employees, railroad employees, and some real estate salespeople.
  • Although you have to wait seven days before being compensated for missing work, if you miss at least seven days of work, you can get compensated at two-thirds of your average weekly wage starting that day, not to exceed 100% of the state’s average weekly wage. If the disability exceeds 14 days, the person is eligible to receive compensation starting the day of the accident, rather than just receiving compensation starting after the seventh missed day of work.
  • Along with wages, workers’ comp also pays for needed medical expenses, compensation for permanent disability or disfigurement, and compensation for accidental deaths caused by the person’s employment.
  • Total and permanent disability is established when the person loses both arms, legs, feet, hands, or vision in both eyes or suffers a loss of a combination of two or more of these body parts.
  • Those suffering total disability or death will receive a maximum compensation of 500 weeks of pay. For partial disability or disfigurement, the compensation is appropriately lower.
  • Injuries should be reported as soon possible. You should never wait more than 90 days to report the injury. Once you have reported your injury to your employer, they should report the injury to the South Carolina Workers’ Compensation Commission within 10 days. If a claim for compensation is not made within two years, compensation could be lost.

If you were hurt on the job, our Columbia workers’ comp attorneys can discuss your specific case with you.Contact us to learn how a workers’ compensation attorney can help ensure you get your full benefits.